Ministry Apps | Evernote


Evernote Window

I am sure that you have heard all about Evernote by now. Seriously, if you have a smart phone or tablet, I have noticed that it is constantly showing up in the “Top Apps” categories. Tons of other YM bloggers have shared how they are using Evernote. But it really is a great little tool, and I would love to share how I have been using Evernote in both my ministry life and my personal life (I have to laugh a little whenever I type that line somewhere).

If you are unfamiliar with Evernote, it is a totally free notebook app (for phones, tablets and desktops). This means that you are able to jot down any stray thought you have and place it into a storage container that can find that thought based upon keywords, geography, title, content, date, or even what notebook you placed it in. The same goes for pictures, voice notes and other forms of attachable media. The folders can be private, or you can share them with friends. I have long been a fan of journaling, and even have a few that are full currently. But Evernote allows me to search for notes rather than search through them. Here are just a few ways I have been using it lately.

  • To-Do Lists and check-lists. Very simple to compose, and it is nice being able to see a check mark beside each item i complete. (This also applies to attendance lists and tracking who has just handed me a balance due for the trip we are about to leave for. Also great to share a shopping list with my wife).
  • Prayer Requests. I can collect requests as our small group gives them, and then be able to pray for them throughout the week after group is done.
  • Sermon notes. I have not done this much, but the few times I have done so it was nice to be able to look back at something that didn’t get thrown in the trash (church bulletin) as soon as we arrived home from the service. (I have also taught from lessons composed in the app).
  • Articles for my volunteer leaders. I come across these all the time, and I do not want to drown them under articles every day. This allows me to save them and spread them out (and then I have a digital copy with me all the time should we want to discuss it).
  • Receipts and Mileage. I track my mileage for ministry and it is always good to have a copy of your receipt to turn in (in case the original goes missing).
  • Teaching Ideas. This is my big one lately. I am constantly seeing teachable moments in the TV and movies that I watch. When one pops up I create a new note just for that episode/movie with a description of what was said/was happening and how I see it used to teach. (This could be very helpful in a couple of months for our As Seen on TV series I am toying with).

There you have it. Just a few ideas for how Evernote can help you in your ministry and personal lives. How else do you use Evernote?

