Let’s Pretend


Mere Christianity“Up till now, I have been trying to describe facts – what God is and what He has done. Now I want to talk about practice – what do we do next? What difference does all this theology make?”    (page 187)

I really like the imagery that Lewis uses in this chapter, talking about how we – in a sense – pretend to be children of god. We are not truly His children, but His creation. But He created us to be His children (though He did not beget us as He did Jesus). Fun paradox, eh? But Lewis handles it gracefully, sharing how we pretend to be like God in order to become more like Him. but in all of this we have to remember that theology in practice is different from anything else. Doing what Christ said is different from reading Plato or Marx and then carrying it out. We have to recognize that God is active and working in us to change us. We do not do this alone. We cannot do this on our own. Only God can kill the old, sinful man and replace it with His character. But we do need to make the effort on our end. In a sense, we can only allow God to work in us.

Lewis also points out two other items that I would like to note. The first is that we have to recognize God behind those humans helping us or we are little more than babies grasping at our mother’s breast without realizing who we are getting our sustenance from. (And along that train of thought, we should not put all our trust in any man. Ever.)

The second item is that I found I really like when Lewis points out that who we are in distress is the real us since we do not have time to hide behind a mask. It is very convicting to me, as often my real demeanor will show through when things do not go my way, and I find myself frustrated. I see the areas that I still have so far to grow in, that I might become more like ,y Creator, my Father.

