Faith (Belief)


CS Lewis begins to explore the virtue of Faith in this chapter (continued in the chapter following), and in just 6 pages, I was reminded of some very solid truths about what faith is and how it operates. I would like to focus on two of those truths.

The first is that faith is almost always going to be caught in the middle of a war between logic and reason. Once we know the truths of Christianity, we do not simply file them away and stand on them regardless. We do not even need someone to come along and argue us out of them. Our own emotions will rise up and – as Lewis puts it – perform a blitz attack against our reason. I know that the anesthesia will not kill me, but I will experience fear and doubt if the mask is placed upon my face. My emotions can often lead to my reason losing, and my faith can be rattled by something that is merely a figment of my imagination. It shocks and appalls me that this is possible! So we cannot just simply learn a truth and walk on. I reminded our Middle School Sunday School class just yesterday that we need to revisit the truths of our faith lest we forget them. How very appropriate I read that same sentiment in this chapter this morning.

The second thought that Lewis puts through in this chapter that intrigued me was when he reminds the reader that man has nothing on God. We do not hold up our end of a contract and expect Him to pay off His debt to us. No, even in our temptation He experienced everything we do and HE STOOD UP TO IT. We cannot know real temptation unless we fight against it. In that manner Jesus was tempted more than any of us ever will be! For us to give Him anything at all is like a child asking his father for money to buy him a present. We can only do anything because God allows us to do so. Our faith should stand strong in order to please Him. But we have to recognize that God is in control and that we can do nothing apart from Him in order for our faith to remain strong.

Fun stuff.

