Exiting


Next week I move on to a new ministry. I know, I know, this might be a bolt out of the blue for some readers, but it is happening. (I want to write a bit about this in the coming days, in between packing boxes and scrubbing carpets). I shared some of my thoughts in our church’s monthly newsletter, and thought I might share them here with you as well.

The LORD had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.                                                                                                                              Genesis 12.1

When God called Abram to leave his home of Ur, Abram was asked to give up everything. Leave your home, leave your family. Follow Him where He will lead. This came with a promise. That God would make Abram the father of a great nation, the nation of Israel. God’s chosen people.

That is a lot to live up to.

Over the past several months, I have felt like Abram. God has been calling me to step out of what has become comfortable for me, what has become my home and my people. Initially, I resisted, and Kelly prayed that God would show me the real truth, that we were not being called away, but to stay. But God persisted. He got through to us, and has given us a calling to follow.

Away from our lands.

Away from our people.

But He has not promised to make my name great. He has promised to challenge me. To fill me. To continue to grow me. Could He do that here in Corry? I am certain that He can do whatever He desires. But for His reasons He has called me away to do this.

As Kelly and I prepare to leave Corry, I want to thank everyone who has made this home for us. Everyone who has cared for us. Everyone who has partnered with us in ministry. Everyone who has come to me with concerns and issues. Everyone who has shared excitement for the teenagers that we reach every week through H20. Thank you for allowing us to be a big part of what the church does here in Corry.

Our prayer is that the work of H20 not fall off because we have left, but that the church will grab it and run with it. Continue loving the teens of this town. Keep giving them opportunities to hear God’s heart. And allow them into your own heart. Let them teach you about what God is doing in their lives. They might surprise you.

I know a lot of them surprised me.

Thank you.

In His Grip,
Pastor Brett

