Love Wins: My Conclusions


This is the third part of a three-part series in which I will explore Rob Bell’s book Love Wins. Feel free to addyour own thoughts in the comments section below. You can read about the good that I found here, and you can read about the bad that I found here.

Let me start by saying that while I did have some significant problems with Love Wins, I think it is a good idea to read it. For starters, Rob does a very good job of calling modern Christians to stop mis-characterizing Jesus. He does an excellent job of reminding us that we are called to partner with God here and now, rather than isolate ourselves and wait for heaven to come to us. He calls we who are mired in our beliefs that our particular brand of Christianity has all the answers to look again.

In short, Rob is challenging us to think.

I have been in student ministry for over a decade now, and I have seen far too many Christians blindly follow what others are teaching them. I have witnessed too few people actually take time to read their own Bibles outside of a Sunday morning service or a Wednesday evening Bible study. I myself have been guilty of coasting and not making enough time to dig deep into my own studies of the Word and other aspects of theology. Rob has issued a drastic wake-up call to the modern Christian.

Though there is some seriously flawed theology here, I think that God can take it. He is bigger than Rob Bell’s shortcomings and misinterpretations. He can use this as a great teaching tool for those who do not understand what it means to follow after Christ. He can rally those of us who are in positions of Spiritual authority to redouble our own efforts to teach soundly.

And in the end, Rob makes a point that sticks with me still. We will very likely be surprised at some of the people we meet in heaven. If what truly matters is a person’s heart relationship with God, then how can you or I truly judge who is “in” and who is “out?” I am not arguing that everyone gets in. Nor am I arguing that only those in my particular brand of Christianity are the only ones who get in. I am arguing that we cannot know anyone’s fate with God but our own. We can guess based on the fruit that we see in the lives of those around us, but we cannot know ourselves (the Holy Spirit can give us some help here, but again, not ourselves).

So read Love Wins. Use it as a call to research and rediscover what is real and what is simply poor exegesis. Recommend it as a resource to a friend and walk with them through it. Let God’s real love win in the world around you. Partner with Him in what He is already doing.

Let loves win.

==================================================

Bonus: If you desire a more theologically astute interaction with Love Wins, I highly recommend Timothy Tennant’s 4-part series. Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4

Bonus #2: Yes, that last line is a poke at the typo in the last sentence of the book. Hope it brought a chuckle to those of you who have read the book.

