WNL in Review: The Days of Ezekiel (3/16/2011)


Set List: Days of Elijah (Robin Mark), I Will Follow (Chris Tomlin).

Prepwork For the Evening: Prayed over the evening, wrote lesson, created lesson media (logo and video), prepared music, assembled EasyWorship schedule, advertised with students.

Lesson Topic: Storyline: The Days of Ezekiel.

What We Did: We spent the evening looking at what The Days of Ezekiel (referred to in song Days of Elijah) were.

Scripture Used: Ezekiel 37.1-14

How did the Evening Go: Let me say up front that tonight had some really great discussion and interaction with the text that we looked into. We again used a passage of Scripture from The Bible Experience that seemed to really bring the Scripture alive for most everyone in the room. After the passage, I had the students take some time to read through the passage on their own (some in the NIV, others in The Message). Then we discussed a handful of questions about Ezekiel’s story, and how it applies into our lives today. They really seemed to catch that we are not all that different from Israel, and that even though we may make mistakes, God has promised to be there for us to pick us up and help us start again. One student even asked me if I had shared this message at Friday Night Flood. (To which my response was that I have shared this message many times). We were also able to tie in the story tonight as far back as Abraham and the Covenant quite easily.

I really felt a great connection with God for our group when we closed the evening with I Will Follow. It lined up perfectly with where our discussion had gone. In fact, we used the chorus as a challenge for our teens who are truly ready to go where God goes, and to follow where He leads. I invited the ones who are ready to stand and sing, and reminded them not to just give God lip service.

I think we may be losing the momentum we had going over the past couple of months. This could be for any reason, but I wonder if a part of it (aside from the weather finally starting to pick back up) could be attributed to our lack of adults who have been able to commit to being present with our crowd on Wednesday nights. Something to explore. I want to get in touch with the teens that we have not seen the past two weeks.

Coming Up Next Week: The Birth of Jesus

 

