New Year, Same Me


I am not a person that makes New Year’s resolutions.

There. It’s out there in the open. I do not like making plans and promises that start on January 1st and will fall away after 3 weeks. Don’t get me wrong, I believe that change is a necessary part of growth, and that we should not allow ourselves to stagnate for any reason (especially if it is just to avoid change). I love change. But I don’t enjoy the idea of picking one day down the road to start. Often I see people who make resolutions like “I am going to eat healthier/watch less TV/ read more of my Bible in the new year!” These are all great plans, but why start later? Start now! Believe me, I have in the past made resolutions about reading Scripture, losing weight and other things that needed changed in my life. But in the weeks leading up to January 1st, I slacked off even more in those areas, so that by the time the new year arrived, I was already too far gone to make any real effort.

So I did not make any resolutions this year. But I do have dreams.

Some of these dreams are for my ministry. Some are for my family. Some are for my own soul. And wouldn’t you know it, none of them were made to start on the 1st of January. Some of these dreams are already underway, and others are starting soon. In any event, I want to share some of these dreams with you. In part, so that I can share in this space which has been devoid of any real content for far too long. But also so that I can have these dreams out in the open, and I can use that to help hold me accountable to these dreams and desires.

Keep watching this space all week for these dreams and desires…

