Murphy’s Law


I have had an interesting 36 hours this week. I wrote about some of it for our church’s newsletter, and thought I’d pass it on to you as well.

Ever had one of those where it seems like everything that can go wrong does? You are not alone. It is a frequent occurrence in human lives where something known as Murphy’s Law takes place. “Everything that can go wrong will go wrong.” And you can take it even further and apply Finagle’s Law to Murphy’s Law, which adds “at the worst possible time, in the worst possible way.” Ever had a day like that?

I recently did. As we were gearing up for Snowbound (our winter retreat with H20) I lost my laptop. Now, I did not misplace it, mind you. It merely had a rather important piece of hardware break due to a freak accident I cannot explain how it happened, and I was told I would be without it for 7 to 10 days (which probably means more like 14 -18 days). I freaked out. In 4 days we would leave for Snowbound, and a lot of stuff, from music to movies (we make movies at Snowbound), to schedules and everything else I could possibly need for the weekend was stuck on the hard drive of a computer I really needed to be able to use. But I would not be able to use it.

It was during this time that I was able to step back and really look at my life as a whole. I knew that technology had become a rather large part of my life over the past several years. I mean, when I was a teen (not that long ago. Seriously!) I didn’t have a cell phone (not until I inherited my own car, and then it was a pre-paid phone for emergencies only), but now I carry one on my hip all day long. 10 years ago don’t even ask me what a Facebook was or where MySpace is, I wouldn’t know. And 2 Gigs of memory on my 40-pound desktop computer with a 56k modem? Awesome! We have made amazing advances in technology over the past several years (and beyond), and we have created an incredible dependence upon technology.

Did I scrap the media and technology elements for Snowbound? No. But those few days really allowed me to explore just how dependent upon technology I have become. And in a way it scares me. So much of my life hinges on technology working correctly, that when it doesn’t everything goes out the window. It really forces me to look at my own faith, my relationship with Christ. I am easily excited by singing about how God is “the air I breathe” but is he really such a key component of my life that I truly depend on Him like I do my laptop? Do any of us really rely on our Creator as much as we do our cell phones, our high-speed internet connections, our computers even booting up in the morning?

Probably not.

So over the next couple of weeks I am really going to take advantage of not having the easiest-accessible technology. I am going to look at the Spiritual Discipline of Simplicity, and really try to reconnect with God as desperately as I tried reconnecting with my broken laptop at 1:00 in the morning when it fell.

Perhaps we all should do so this month.

Sounds like a plan for Lent to me…

