English. Fun, no?


This one is off the eaten path. It’s not exactly Youth Ministry, but hey, maybe it will apply after all.

Over the past year I have had to contact two separate people from the same organization. I am a friend of both on Facebook. The first I contacted multiple times via her professional e-mail address, but after weeks of not hearing anything I contacted her through Facebook. The second I had no professional contact info, so I attempted to contact him through his Facebook account. Both are administrators of the group page on Facebook for this organization. Both requested that I not use their Facebook for “professional” contact, and instead to e-mail them. Understandable, no?

Here’s where it gets funny.

The first utilized (she has since left the organization) her Facebook account to manage the group page that was by invitation only for those of us who work with the organization. So does the second. The line gets a little bit blurry there. But the real kicker was when the second one requested that I not contact him via Facebok for professional matters, because his Facebook page is his personal page for friends and coworkers. I am his friend on Facebook (he accepted the request) and technically I am a coworker of his.

Now, I understand, appreciate and will respect his desires for me not to use hsi Facebook to contact him on a professional level. But when in the internet revolution did the meaning of friend get so splintered that it can simultaneously mean two completely seperate things?

Our teens have this same mentality (I have tried to avoid it. I try not to accept friend invites from people I either do not know or will not invest time in getting to know) with their social networking pages. How do we apprehend that? Do you ever enconter this splintering in your teens? How can we use it to teach on what genuine friendship (especailly frinedship with Christ) is?

Perhaps I’ll post my thoughts in a few days. Chime in and share your thoughts.

