Being Lifelong Students


Yesterday we welcomed 5 (of our 7 who wanted to) Middle Schoolers into membership within our church. I have spent the past 8 weeks (okay, seven of the last eight, I was gone for one week at Alive and our Senior Pastor filled in that week) with these teens, refreshing and teaching the basics of our faith. At the same time I was preparing to give the sermon in yesterday’s services. I settled upon (what I believe to be inspired by the Spirit) the topic of our call as Christians to be lifelong students, and I gave that message yesterday.

In truth, you will find little in Scripture that tells us outright that we are to read Scripture every day. But what you will find are tons of passages that exhort us to be immersed in Scripture.

Blessed is the man
who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.
But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night. ~ Psalm 1.1,2

How can a young man keep his way pure?
By living according to your word.
I seek you with all my heart;
do not let me stray from your commands.
I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you. ~ Psalm 119.9-11

These are just a couple of my favorites. This summer we have challenged our teens to immerse themselves in Scripture each day, as we journey through the Gospels of Mark Luke and John (we are almost done with Mark) and invite them to share their thoughts on a blog that I set up (which also keeps me accountable). There is so much in Scripture that can be such a benefit in our lives, yet we make excuses every day. Why can we not simply commit to reading even a chapter a day? Why do we not immerse ourselves in the words of our Father?

Because we are poor students. We look for the least amount of work that we can do to get by. And yesterday I encouraged our congregation to become better students. I encouraged myself to become a better student. The past 2 weeks of committed reading in Mark have already had a profound impact on my own Spiritual Journey. What could immersing yourself in Scripture each day do for yours?

